Tiger Hug

slice-of-life_individual

Standing in the kitchen post Friday night pizza dinner.  It’s our go to on Lenten Friday night.

It’s another divide and conquer weekend.

We are all headed north to Vermont.

3/5 of us are headed to Hancock, VT where they will hang with Debbie and PJ.  Where they will rise early to be at the mountain, Sugarbush, by 8:00.  It’s become routine if your last name is Sherriff or Heindl.

2/5 of us are headed to Bellows Falls, VT where one will watch while the other joins her team in one last competition dance for the 17-18 season

“I want a tiger hug.”

“I love a good tiger hug.”

We are standing in between the stove and the island.  A tiger hug needs more space.

I scoot my feet back, she scoots her feet forward.  We have space.

I put my arms out towards her, she places her hands on my shoulders.  We bend our knees.  My feet are spread, shoulder width apart for stability and balance.  We lock eyes.

“One, two, three.”  full of anticipation, our voices are one.

She bends, she jumps, she wraps her long legs around me, and I pull her in close. Her arms encircle my neck, mine her back.  She nestles her head in my neck on my shoulder.

We laugh.

“You got so high!” I proclaim proudly.

“Yeah!  That was a good one!” she says.

We hold the tiger hug and she says…

“I don’t want to grow up so you can always pick me up.”

I add a squeeze to my hug, and say,

“I’ll always be able to pick you up.”

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Tiger Hug”

  1. Such a sweet, sweet slice! You show so much about your relationship with your daughter through your actions and through your dialogue– that last line gives me goosebumps! And I agree with the other two commenters- I had no idea what a tiger hug was, until you told us!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This slice does such a nice job showing a piece of your family life – the adventure, the interest in sports, the busy nature of this time in your life, and the love you have between you and your kids! Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great moment perfectly described. It wouldn’t be as great without the “I don’t want to grow up” line. That’s what makes it seem more precious, because of the impermanence. It’s great that she knows how great it is, even while it’s happening. Sometimes we only realize it later.

    Like

Leave a comment