Sit, Listen, Write

slice-of-life_individual

 Our tiny back deck, that leads down to our patio, gets fabulous sun in late February and March, when the trees are still bare and the angle of the sun is higher.  There’s a piece of the house that juts out and blocks any March winds that may be blowing.  Hence, I’ve named it “the cozy spot”.  On this It was an unusually warm February day.  I pulled out my beach chair and assumed my position in “the cozy spot”. I pulled out my journal and drew the garden cart loaded with firewood.  As I drew, my sense of hearing was heightened and wrote what I heard.

img_8377.jpg

Sit, Listen

Sitting in the cozy spot

Listen to the birds

chirp, peep, cheep, caw

Listen the sudden, furious flap of wings

whoosh, flap, whoosh

Listen to the neighbors windchime

ting, bling, ting-ting, twang

Listen and forget it’s still winter

12 thoughts on “Sit, Listen, Write”

  1. I love your combination of sketch and poem. I have a favored spring cozy spot, too, but apparently not quite as cozy as yours as mine is still covered in snow right now! The emphasis on sounds is delightful and the ending line of your poem is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you have spring fever! It’s coming. This would be great to share with kids. Good courtyard work. I think it’s amazing how sketching opens your mind to see and hear what may otherwise go unseen or heard.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful mentor text for writing in the moment about the sounds you hear! Love your bravery in sharing your journal page.

    Like

  4. Sounds like a lovely spot! Close-listening can reveal so much about our world. I love looking into your notebook. It’s making me think I need one…I like the sketches so I am considering a real paper notebook.

    Like

Leave a comment