so close but…

Mysteries abound….

If the brain doesn’t feel pain, why do headaches hurt?

Do mice really like cheese?

Do birds pee?

What came first, the chicken or the egg?

These days, it is not uncommon, for the under 25 family members in our home, to head up to their bedrooms with a Gatorade and snack. Sometimes one might head up to read. Sometimes one might head up for homework. Sometimes one might head up to watch a show on Netflix. The residents of those rooms are responsible for cleaning them. It’s not an uncommon sight to see see a few Gatorade bottles, empty bags, or bowls that have accumulated after a few days of snacking. I have to admit, it’s often collected quite neatly in a corner or on desk.

I came home from school the other day, walked into the kitchen to empty my lunch bag. I saw a collection of empties on the counter, right above the garbage. Apparently someone, who shall remain nameless, was so exhausted from cleaning her room, she did not have the energy to finish the job and simply push the empties in the receptacles below.

How can one be so close to finishing a job and just stop?

This is a mystery…at least in my home.

9 thoughts on “so close but…”

  1. I wasn’t sure from the start where this would go. Good lead! There are lots of mysteries over here and I am planning to write about one for tomorrow. You have a much calmer approach than I do about mine!

    Like

  2. I wondered if you shared this post with the unnamed person…We once had the mystery of who was drilling holes in the soap–I kid you not. It took almost a decade for the perpetrator to fess up. Also, you posted this link on my site, and I don’t see the link at the TWT page, so I’m going to throw the link up there. (Sorry if it’s a duplication!)

    Like

Leave a comment