Itchy But(t)

It’s a beautiful spring day, well, technically, it’s still winter. My attention is drawn to the chirping birds, the greening grass, the teeny tiny buds, the warmth of the sun on my back. I pause, periodically, to let Maci do her dog thing — sniffing, peeing, pooping.

Sometimes, when we are simply walking together, and my senses have me more alert to my surroundings than my little buddy, I am stopped in my tracks. My foot moves to take another step forward and my arm is pulled backwards. I reverse my forward motion to see Maci, sitting. She sits and she spins. Her mouth is open. Her hind legs lifted, her front paws serve as the rotating limbs. I watch as she spins left and right, balancing on her butt. She looks like a pedigree Sit and Spin. So talented, Maci.

6 thoughts on “Itchy But(t)”

  1. A Maci slice! I still remember one from last year. I love this kind of slice because it proves ideas for writing are always there if we just pay attention!

    Like

  2. You had me at dog.
    The mention of a beautiful spring morning only made it more enjoyable.
    I love the way you describe Maci as only a human with heightened senses could do.

    Like

  3. We went for a walk yesterday and Adi suggested we look for signs of spring. Itā€™s that time of year. Next time we will be on the lookout for dogs doing ā€œthe Maci.ā€

    Like

Leave a comment