singled out?

Way back when I was a “newish” teacher, I had a third grade class with three special eduction students. These children were part of a program where the majority of their academics would be be taught in a multiage resource room. They were also valued members our classroom community. The threesome always started their day with us, ended their day with us, and often stayed for either Reader’s or Writer’s Workshop. Working closely withe Alyson, the special education teacher, we planned appropriate, accessible academics for the classroom as well collaborative work and positive socialization. That year, I learned a lot, not just from working with Alyson, but from the kids, Annie, Laurel and William.

Twenty years later, a lesson I learned then, sticks with me to this day. What was good for any one of the threesome, was probably beneficial for others in the class as well.

During one Writer’s Workshop, kids were scattered all over the room at tables, on the floor and nestled in corners. Laurel was sitting on the floor, trying hard to get the right pressure in her journal to draw and write. It was challenging. I could see she needed to, either, get to a table, or, lay on her belly. I quietly went over to her, wanting her to be a successful writer in our class. I offered her the choice of table or laying on her belly. Wanting to stay with the writers she was near, she chose her belly. I explained to her that she might be able to get better pressure with her pencil and materials. I also knew this move might helps strengthen her core. The group around her listened in as shared a few choices. I remember turning to them and telling them they, too, could try it. It was just the right adjustment for not only Laurel to continue writing alongside her peers but for her peers to continue writing in their journals alongside her.

This memory came flooding back to me today. There has been a recess issue with a few children. One in particular has been singled out as the “problem”. There were discussions on how to navigate the situation. We discussed having that one child pick a recess activity hoping to focus his play outside. We discussed having structured games which would benefit the entire grade. We also discussed taking a status of the class before recess where kids could share what they wanted to play during recess. This status of the class could then be used after recess for reflection, discussion, and general community building.

The discussion is still open. No plan has been made. But when I think back to Laurel and William and Annie, I know that the ideas that involve the grade or the class will prove to be more beneficial for the whole rather than singling out the one child.

7 thoughts on “singled out?”

    1. I still have my folder of games from Caltha! Both schools have had it up and running…before. It should happen again! Leave it to you, Dawn, to see the bigger picture here. You’re so right. What a great connection back to the past.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This makes so much sense. It’s true that the other “mainstream” kids benefitted from hearing the things that L. needed. In many cases they needed it too. I think it’s especially true right now when we are assuming that kids have developed in the way that their predecessors developed, even though their predecessors never experienced anything like what has transpired in the past two years. One of the best things I’ve been seeing this year is how some of the kids in the resource room have decided that it is cool to be empathetic and inclusive with a student who had previously felt like an outsider. The smile on that kid’s face and the change in his affect (expression, pace, gait, etc.) has been remarkable.

    Like

  2. This is so true! I can’t count the number of times I’ve had something I designed as a scaffold or accommodation for one student help many others. Great slice and a great reminder!

    Like

  3. I have long sensed the truth in this. We can address the needs of many children when considering and responding to the more salient needs of individual students. Also, when students of various learning styles mix, a classroom truly becomes more than the sum of its parts.

    Like

Leave a comment