Switching Seats

I’ve been through this before. I’ve done it twice. It’s nerve wracking work. But every time I open the passenger door and sit beside Megan in the driver’s seat, I remind myself that I’ve done this before. I did it with Hannah. I did it with Grace. Then I tell myself, I can do it with Megan.

Now, I know it’s really about her, but as anyone that’s driven with a newly permitted driver knows that it’s kinda about you, too. It’s about finding the right words to explain the rules of the road. It’s kinda about you as you remain completely aware of the roads but not in control of the car. It’s about you as you bite your tongue, letting your new driver subvocalize every move they make, while you pray that they receive the telepathic messages you send from the passenger seat.

Yes, I’ve done this before but doing it for the third time ain’t any easier than it was the first time! Alas, we will do it – she will do it. After all, it really is about her.

4 thoughts on “Switching Seats”

Leave a comment