missing-part 2

I was snapped away from my own sinking thoughts when Janet came to my rescue, “I can bring you home for the spare and bring you back.” Without hesitation I accepted and thanking Janet repeatedly.

“I know I carried it into Burn.” I recounted my pre camp steps to Janet. “I know I carried it in. I had my water bottle in one hand and my headband and key in the other.” “Someone definitely took it by accident.” Janet assured me.

“Left or right at the light?” She asked. My mind was wrapped up in the mystery of my missing key, I forgot I had to guide Janet to my house.

In my role as copilot, I directed Janet with pointing and lefts and rights. The closer we got to the spare key, the more aware I was of the time. Would I make it back in time to shower, eat and leave to get Megan and Kolby to school? I don’t have to eat, I can eat when I get to school. I can just do a wick rinse and make it. I can do it.

“It’s the gray colonial in the left.” Janet pulled into the driveway and I ran in, grabbed the spare from the hook (thankful that Billy insists we hang all spares on the hooks) and ran back out.

I booked ended our trip with more repeated thank yous. I promptly exited her car, got in mine and headed home, quickly. “I can do this”. I repeated.

My morning had transitioned from a work out, to a mystery, to a mission. I would leave the house at 7:08 and get on with my day. I was determined.

7 thoughts on “missing-part 2”

  1. Same as others, I was going to ask if you found it? Or, do we wait until the next class to see if someone returned it? Today my post was long and I almost thought to divide it in two parts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that you’re getting the idea from the comments that we all want to know what happened to that fob, but I also admire the unfolding of this post, especially the final reflection of workout to mystery to mission! I also loved the quick nod to Billy for the key ring hook as someone who struggles to keep the keys where they belong!

    Like

  3. So many things to think about in the morning…even without the fob drama. It’s amazing that you never seem frazzled. It must be the organized mind. There really should be a “find my fob” app.

    Like

Leave a comment