All Over the Place

Some days, my job has me all over the place. When I say that, I mean, I’m giving targeted OG lessons and the next thing I know I’m in a classroom watching the curriculum come to life with children.

Today was one of those days.

9:30 brought three third graders in for some targeted -cle work. Today, we would be joining syllables, reading and writing -cle words. The three settled right into the work. I was in awe at C as she finally, this year, began to use the language of identifying syllables. “That’s an open syllable because the vowel says it name”. She was focused, thinking and as a result she was expressing herself clearly. Most importantly, she was proud. I could see it in her eyes.

Later that morning, I found myself in a third grade classroom. They were reading their research writing to a partner – rehearsing. I listened in to T and J. At one point, J questioned T’s research. “Are you sure the elephant nurses for 4 years? Is it 4 months?” She went on, “When human babies are born, they drink their mother’s milk immediately, but not usually for years?” I was in awe at the research, the listening, the thinking. The rehearsing had T questioning his own research. About 5 minutes later, I found him back at his computer, searching for the book that would validate his writing. “Look, Mrs. Sherriff, here it is.” I witnessed a reader reading for a purpose and determination. We called J over and she read the page silently. “Wow! That is cool.” She questioned, he searched and shared, and I supported and witnessed the process. All our minds were opened.

Sometimes, my job has me teaching with structures, routines, and repetition because I know it’s what the child needs. But sometimes, my job is to teach and coach from a listening place.

Yes, my job sometimes has me all over the place but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Every day, I’m ready, open and always learning from those kids.

8 thoughts on “All Over the Place”

  1. I was wondering what was going on over in that corner. Now I know. Grateful your all over the place crosses with my all over the place sometimes. Today was one of those days. Glad we could sit in my dark office and share how tired we were. Being all over the place can be exhausting… but always rewarding!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was wondering where this title was leading. It could have been a negative to some (scattered, at loose ends), but as usual, you made it a positive (variety, a spectrum, versatility). It’s all about your flexibility that makes these things work.

    Like

  3. I think the way your job has you in different places all of the time is what makes it fun (and keeps you loving your work). Any time we can work with kids in different capacities our lives become richer.

    Like

  4. I love the variety our jobs offer! I love that classrooms are returning to a more normal place! Yes- so much to learn from kids.

    Like

Leave a comment