Celebrity?

It was that time of the month – time for hair coloring. This particular appointment had to get rescheduled due to my own lack of foresight. My hairdresser, Kerry, is incredibly talented and accommodating. When I initially texted her to reschedule, she said she could squeeze me in for a 4:00 root color but added that Bella would be doing the glaze and the blowout.

On Tuesday, Kerry masterfully sectioned my hair and brushed on the color, until every section was sufficiently saturated. “Need anything?” she asked, she always does. “Nope. I’m good.” “Bella will see you in 30.”

30 minutes later, I made my way to the sink area and Bella rinsed and glazed. I sat for another 10 and then made my way back to the chair for my favorite part. The blowout. There’s something relaxing and rewarding when the someone else is gently, yet purposefully, blow drying my hair. I love the end product, but I think I love the process more.

My eyes were closed, hair was hanging in my face, I was in a trance. The next thing I know, there are two hairdryers going above my head! “What is happening?” I thought. “If you spin the chair, I can get the top and you can do the back.” My chair spun. I opened my eyes and Kerry, brush in one hand, dryer in the other was working on the back and Bella was right in front of me, twisting her own brush drying the top of my hair! “WOW! I’ve never had this before! What did I do to deserve this today?” I sat there for the next 10 minutes my head gently bobbing to and fro with the pull of each brush all the while soaking up the hairdryer warmth, feeling like a celebrity.

4 thoughts on “Celebrity?”

  1. Ha! I’m going today. Sometimes I get the 2 on 1 treatment and I feel like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. I’ll think of you when they’re blowdrying and try to enjoy it. I’m more of the when-will-this-be-done mindset. Thanks for that!

    Like

Leave a comment