ss success

It was round two of three. Speed and Agility was the kick off camp for 2024. We were at the surrender squat station. I kinda like ’em. I like the challenge of getting myself from a kneeling position to my feet. It’s a lean back, swing the arms, imagine yourself on your feet kinda move. It’s kinda satisfying to land one after another after another.

Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed a familiar face beside me working on landing her surrender squats. I recognized her but didn’t know her name. “You can definitely do it.” I turned and muttered towards her. She smiled and put herself back in position. “Swing.” I encouraged. I’m no trainer but I just had a feeling, I had a feeling she could do it. I had a feeling she wanted to do it. She leaned back, swung her arms forward and suddenly she was no longer on her knees, she was on her feet. A little unsteady, but she had done it! “Not quite.” She smiled and said to me. She reset herself on her knees, leaned back, swung and nailed number two. Alyssa, our fearless trainer caught sight of her and came right over to not only coach, but to cheer her on. Round three, she attacked that surrender squat station.

At the end of camp, sweaty and breathless, I crawled over to her to catch her name and congratulate her. We high fived and shared an exhausted smile. 

Yes, Surrender Squats are definitely satisfying to land, but they are even more satisfying when you get to watch someone land them for the first time and then nail one after another. Yay, Laura!

2 thoughts on “ss success”

Leave a comment