tsptsptsp

There’s this noise beside me. It’s coming from the floor. It’s a tsptsptsp. It’s Maci, our ‘little’ pup. She’s sprawled out, belly down, on the rug by the slider. The afternoon sun is lighting her up. She’s got a defluffed elephant between her front paws. The sound I hear is her intently licking, sucking, at the elephant fur. She looks so content, happy, unaware of anything but the elephant between her paws.

Maci’s is the first dog I’ve ever owned. She’s been with us for five years now. She’s the first one to run to greet you when you come home. Her tail feather duster like tail spins in circles. Her high pitched whines let you know she missed you and she’s glad you’re home. And most of the time she’s just there, on her blanketed couch cushion, by the door waiting, on Grace’s bed sleeping, or in Billy’s office, watching him work. And then there are the times she’s just right next to you doing her nothing or something, quietly.

I never understood the powerful, silent, presence of a four legged friend in a home, in a life. Now I do.

9 thoughts on “tsptsptsp”

  1. You and I are in sync these first few days. This morning I wrote about Winnie, but a little less lovingly. She’s also a mini bernedoodle, and her life sounds a lot like Macie’s.

    Like

  2. I’m right there with you. Our guest dog is making some interesting noises as I type this. He’s not tending to an elephant though. It’s a little more like self-care. Still cute. I’m like you. I got my first dog as an adult, and within moments I wondered how I had gone so many years without knowing what I was missing.

    Like

  3. It’s amazing how we love them so much! When Maizie was gone, I missed her silence presence so much. I used to say how the house was so different. Miles greeting each afternoon is often the highlight of my day. Glad you’ve discovered the joy!

    Like

  4. A beautiful post. I love your closing line:
    “I never understood the powerful, silent, presence of a four legged friend in a home, in a life. Now I do.”
    My labradoodle, Willy, is the first dog I’ve had as a retired and widowed person. So my house is very quiet at times, except for him. Very powerful and wonderful indeed.

    Like

Leave a comment