Melting

“Megan, I’ve made a decision.” Billy was standing in front of Megan and I who were comfy on the couch. He had just come home from work. Megan and I were startled by his suddenness. “I’ve made a decision. We are getting a dog.” I looked at him, he looked at me. This had been discussed but it was, honestly, news to me that we were announcing this to Megan, the child that wanted the dog desperately. Megan turned to me. I could see the tears welling up in her eyes. “Really???” I turned one more time to Billy, then back to Megan, “Yes, we are getting a dog!” Then those tears just fell and she melted in excitement.

It’s been four years with our Maci Mae. She’s what Hannah and Grace miss the most when they are at school. She’s the one that can turn a grumpy day around with one nuzzle. She’s the one that can test our patience with her pokiness. She’s the one that the neighbors all know. She’s the one that can spin her tail like a fan on high when she greets you. She’s the one that still believes she can get that squirrel. She’s the one that makes us shake our heads and smile at her poop dances. She’s the one who defines lazy in our family.

And yes, she’s the one that Megan still melts with every day.

sillies
maci and megan

6 thoughts on “Melting”

  1. I love the way you wrote this – starting with the scene and then moving toward a poetic structure. It really showed all that you love about your pup (and that beautiful family of yours). The image of Maci’s tail turning like a fan reminds me so much of my dog when she greets someone she loves.

    Like

  2. I love the story on the intro and then learning about Maci- two different formats in one piece! Nothing like a girl and her dog. Isn’t the way they greet us when we get home the best!

    Like

Leave a comment