Partial Failure

“Your mother is mailing it in with these dinners since your sisters are gone.” Billy quipped to Megan over dinner one night. I don’t remember what we were having exactly, but clearly it was not up to their standards.

I’ll be honest, feeding five every night was easier than feed three. I’ll admit, the meals have been getting redundant or simply boring. This just wasn’t going to do.

Megan had been wanting to get an air fryer. I think she’d been stalking recipes and Tik-Toks and all things Air Fryed. Then I read Tracey’s slice, Dear Air Fryer . It tipped me over the edge and right onto the google machine to order. It arrived on Friday, right as we were headed out.

Sunday morning, Billy and I came home, Megan had opened the air fryer and had whipped up some french toast sticks for breakfast. Oh this Air Fryer was already sparking culinary creativity!

Midday, we googled Irish Soda Bread in the air fryer. Recipe seemed simple enough and it’d be done in 25 minutes! We measured, mixed and kneaded. Next thing we knew the house was smelling like baked bread! With about 8 minutes left, we checked the bread. It was golden brown with a what appeared to be a crunchy crust. After inserting and examining the toothpick, Megan and I determined that the inside needed the rest of the time. Megan was a bit apprehensive that this recipe would be as successful as her breakfast.

The 8 minutes were up, we pulled out the basket, “Well I guess we take it out of the pan and put it on a cutting board to cool?” “I don’t know about this mom.” Clearly we were first time air fryer users finding our way together. I put two forks under the mound of bread and lifted. It was like lifting a dome cover off a dish. The crust came off revealing a quite undercooked doughy inside! The air was suddenly filled with not only the aroma of the bread, but our laughter at the failure before us! “Now what??” Megan blurted out between cackles. “I don’t know? Let’s flip it over and bake it a bit longer!” “I don’t know Mom.” “Neither do I Megan, but why not?!” We returned the bread to the basket and let our baby cook a bit more.

We ended up with a 90% cooked Irish Soda bread. Later that afternoon, Billy, Megan and I stood around the island and eating, cutting, eating, cutting and yes, tossing the too doughy center. Clearly it wasn’t a complete failure. And clearly, we need to develop a working relationship with our new addition.

PS. The roasted sweet potatoes we had for dinner came out perfect.

10 thoughts on “Partial Failure”

  1. “I don’t know Mom.” “Neither do I Megan, but why not?!” I could hear the tone in both these lines. I’m sure Megan will master that thing in no time. I wrote about my kids “cooking” today too. 🤣

    Like

  2. Yay, Airfryer! I must say Irish Soda Bread is an ambitious start. Stick with it- you’ll figure out what it does best and what might still cook better in the oven. We’ve had a few failures.

    Like

  3. The good thing is that failures, especially with bread, make for better slices! We’ve been doing simpler things like veggies and french fries. Also, when we get takeout and the dessert is fried bananas…just a few short minutes in the AF and they’re perfect again! I really enjoyed the dialogue and the images. “lifting a dome cover off a dish.”

    Like

  4. You beautifully captured a great family moment! I love that you all stood around eating it despite the failures! I was also inspired by the Dear Air Fryer post! I love that it tipped you over the edge to get one! I have been thinking hard about getting one, too!

    Like

  5. This is the second post I’ve seen today about air fryers — maybe it’s a sign that I should get one too? I love the humor that you’ve woven throughout the post! Have fun air frying!

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for this! I needed a hearty laugh. It’s so important for each of us to be able to laugh at life’s follies. Thanks so much for making the day just a little bit brighter with your Slice.

    Like

  7. I haven’t purchased an air fryer yet, but I’m so tempted. Your post is pushing me further down the road!

    BTW: I LOVE to cook and I’ve been uninspired by our dinners (mostly because my dear son has chosen to be picky in the past few months and it’s been crushing my soul).

    Like

  8. Thanks for the laugh. I never would have thought to bake bread in an air-fryer! My husband has been campaigning for one, but only because he wants to make French Fries. I can’t think of what else we’d make, though I’m sure there are some good recipes out there. I just don’t know if I want another appliance hanging around!

    Like

Leave a comment