Doubts to Discoveries

slice-of-life_individual

“The more we take risks and learn from each other, the greater the energy-giving satisfaction.  Ultimately, we see beyond our limited collegial relationship to the possibilities of an energy-given vision we can fulfill together.”  Donald Graves, The Energy To Teach

 

“I never felt great about Writer’s Workshop.  I felt insecure about it.  I was always happy that they were writing.  I never valued the checklists so I just did the check list for them.  I was the middleman.”

These were the opening lines at a faculty meeting by Leigh-ann, a first grade teacher.  She openly and honestly shared where she started.

“I didn’t know there was a way for the students to own them.  I wasn’t sure they could even use them independently.  Then Jess came in and we did a coaching cycle on how to use the checklists.”

Leigh-ann went on to explain how she and Jess designated each section of the checklist with a colored post it.  The writers then read over their own work and moved the post it to the section where they did the work.  With the time given to rereading and the visual aid of the post it, each writer could then say to themselves, “I have this.  I don’t have this.  Now I can set a goal on this…”

“This is the first year that I realized how much volume matters because if they’ve created their goal based on a checklist and a draft, then they can work towards that goal as they begin a new draft.”

It was eye opening for me.  When I would see a writer fill out the check list with all these “no”s or “not yet”s I thought it was feedback about me and about my teaching.  What I learned is that is all about them (the writer) seeing what they are already doing and what they are starting to do and where they need to go.” 

The checklists are are a way for them to provide their own feedback to themselves.  It’s less about me and more about them.”

I hung on every word Leigh-ann said.  I listened intently, and wrote, as she let herlearning unfold with every word.  She wasn’t just presenting what happened in her classroom, she was sharing her story.  She brilliantly wove in anecdotal classroom stories that brought to life the voices of the writers in her classroom.

Her story included her doubts, her bravery, her observations, and her discoveries.  Her voice was alive and her presence was energy giving.

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Doubts to Discoveries”

  1. You captured so many of Leigh-ann’s beautiful and honest insights. You’re right, what she shared was a story. Thanks for sharing these gems in your own story. ❤️

    Like

  2. This sounds amazing. I am impressed that she was able to share her growth with the staff – it must be a place with lots of support. Also, as a high school teacher who is increasingly interested in writing workshop, I find the insights fascinating. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. I’m just so impressed by the way you and Jess and the rest of your staff has developed the kind of community where people feel comfortable taking risks and sharing their feelings, doubts, failures, and successes. This is what a learning community is all about!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Doubt
    is the cup of tea
    we leave out –
    or coffee, perhaps,
    if you prefer some other
    liquid metaphor —
    to sip through
    our days, a cold
    brew of wondering
    that what we teach
    isn’t getting through

    — Kevin, reflecting on this common thing most teachers have, and how important it is to have others to talk with to move ahead

    Liked by 2 people

  5. How awesome that your colleague was brave to share her growth with the rest of the staff. Typically we share news about our students and their growth which is wonderful however teacher growth and reflection is just as important (if not more). Thanks again for these reflective words.

    Like

  6. This was a great meeting. Even though she was sharing about first grade, this fifth grade teacher got a lot of valuable insights. Thanks for processing and reiterating some of them. I too was taking notes, but you were taking them one step further. I really connected to this line:
    “It was eye opening for me. When I would see a writer fill out the check list with all these “no”s or “not yet”s I thought it was feedback about me and about my teaching. What I learned is that is all about them (the writer) seeing what they are already doing and what they are starting to do and where they need to go.”

    Like

  7. When teachers share stories about vulnerabilities, they really inspire others to take risks. Love how you share the story, but also love what it says about your school and its people.

    Like

  8. “When I would see a writer fill out the check list with all these “no”s or “not yet”s I thought it was feedback about me and about my teaching. What I learned is that is all about them (the writer) seeing what they are already doing and what they are starting to do and where they need to go.”” This is so powerful. Way to go SES!

    Like

Leave a comment