Just the Bare Essentials

We are all in the kitchen.  We are in the throws of kitchen chaos as Billy and Hannah get ready for the trek back to UVM.  It has been a long weekend with family and friends remembering and celebrating the stories of Billy’s dad.  Here we are, in the kitchen, the five of us.

“Just the bare essentials!  That’s all I need to go back to Vermont!”  Hannah proclaims as she returns from the basement, walking through the kitchen, skis in hand.

“Dad!  Just the bare essentials!  In case an September snow falls!”  Hannah finally reaches Billy who burst out with a cackle and a deep belly laugh at the sight of Hannah.

The sight of Hannah with skis in hand reminds Megan that she needs a new ski coat.  She senses the lightheartedness of the moment and shouts out “Hey Dad!  I need a new ski coat!”

“Really?  Don’t we have a coat that fits you?”  He goes to the closet and starts pulling out coats for Megan to try in.  She obliges.  The first one, formally, Hannah’s, is too big.

“Ok.  That one is too big. Billy concedes.  “Try this one.”  he says handing Megan a pink coat.

“Awwwww.  That was my coat!”  Grace looks up from her phone for a moment of nostalgia.  “That coat wasn’t very warm.”  She remarks.

“OK,”  Billy responds, “You need warm.”  Then he hands Megan a third coat that she puts on.

“MOM!!  MOM!!” I hear from upstairs.  In the middle of all this, I had gone upstairs to change some laundry.

“DAWN!  Get down here!  I think we’ve found the perfect, warm coat for Megan!”  Billy is yelling with sheer joy at his finding.

I come downstairs to see Megan standing in the kitchen in my ski coat.  “That’s mine!”

Hannah, Grace, and Billy laugh simultaneously.  “Yeah!  But doesn’t it fit her good?”

“Yes, it does kinda fit her, but what will I wear?  Am I getting a new coat?”

We laugh some more at the sight of Megan in my coat. I take it from her and put it on myself.  Everyone finally comes to their senses and agrees that the ladies petite size 4 fits me better than 12 year old Megan.

As this kitchen episode is winding down, Billy concedes once again to his daughters.

It’s been a long weekend, but the love and laughter and story making live on in our home.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Just the Bare Essentials”

Leave a comment