Be Patient

slice-of-life_individual

The wind is still howling.  Will it ever stop?

It will stop.  There are calmer days ahead.

The trees are still bare.  When will there buds appear?

The will show themselves, soon.  Just wait.  Be patient.  Keep looking.

The snow still covers my yard.  When will it melt?

The March sun is higher, warmer, it will melt the snow which will water the ground.

The air is so cold.  When will it be warm?

Cold fronts don’t stick around forever.

The world is so brown.  When will it be green?

The green will come.  The world will awaken.

 

8 thoughts on “Be Patient”

  1. I too love the rhythm of this poem – the longing followed by the confident assurance. It really rang true for me right now. I’m longing for the spring, the green, the buds, the warmth. This is really beautiful. Thanks.

    Like

  2. I’ve been reminding myself to appreciate the beauty of winter and to tamp down on my impatience for spring. There is so much to appreciate on these snowy days. Your poem really captures that tug and pull and yet has a lovely gentle feel to it. It actually feels like a conversation between a parent and an anxious child.

    Like

  3. I feel like this is a conversation that has been on repeat at our house! We are all ready for winter to end and warmer weather to be on it’s way. We saw some geese yesterday, and that’s always a good sign!

    Like

Leave a comment