Just Us

IMG_6253

The impetus for our most recent road trip to North Carolina was The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  My oldest, Hannah, is a senior in high school and wanted to see UNC.  So last spring, as we were looking at our summer, we realized we had four days to squeeze this trip in.  So we began researching lodging.  I was on AirBnB, my husband was googling camping.

“Meet The North Country.”  My husband said enthusiastically as he held up a picture of a 26 foot camper.  “Um, OK.  Why not?”  I replied after a long pregnant pause. Any other reply may have crushed him and his spirit!  “Where will we camp?”  I asked trying to get a taste of his energy.  He ushered me over to his computer where he showed me Jordan Lake and it’s proximity to the camper rental and UNC Chapel Hill.  The more he talked, the more I knew we had to do the camping thing.  Not because we all felt the need to camp on this road trip but really because we knew Billy HAD to camp for this road trip.  We needed to do it for him.  And hey, why not?

IMG_6255.JPG

 

The next four days were a gift.

We, as a family of five, had THE.BEST.TIME.

After the camper was unhitched, the gear unloaded, Grace and Megan began throwing the football around and Hannah was playing wiffle ball with herself.  All we could hear was the sound of their shouts and laughs and cackles.  Megan came up to me and said “That’s it Mom.  My hands are up.  I admit it. This is more fun than I thought it would be.”  We had only been there 2 hours!

We played on the beach, we swam in the lake.  It was so warm on top.  The further

IMG_6248.JPG

you went out, the deeper the water got, suddenly, below your knees you felt cold water.

“Mom!  Can you feel it? It’s so much colder down there – that is so cool!”  Grace yelled.

We went paddle boarding and kayaking.  Grace, Hannah and I attempted headstands on the paddle board. Grace experienced success.  Hannah and I can say we tried!  We played.  We put three people on a paddle board and

 

IMG_6246 (1).JPG

discovered it is not meant for three people.  Megan got to paddle board and kayak solo for the first time.  Megan swam under a busy bridge.  We grilled outside, we ate outside.  We went out to the quintessential General Store and bought a IMG_6256.JPGred and white checkered table cloth just so we would look like “real” campers.

 

 

 

Over the years, we’ve taken many a trip with our family.  We vacationed at Cape Cod for ten years with another family.  We’ve been to Beaufort, North Carolina four or five times to visit Billy’s dad.  We’ve also been to Sanibel Island, Florida.  I’ve been thinking about what made this trip so different from others.  I wondered was it their ages? The camping? The location?  Maybe it was a little mix of all of that but I really do believe that what made it so great was because it was just the five of us. Just us.

 

 

IMG_6251.JPG

 

 

 

Before you return your rental camper, you’ve got visit the dumping station!

Oh, and UNC was big hit!

 

4 thoughts on “Just Us”

  1. That looks like so much fun.! Will have to keep renting a camper in mind. I agree. It seems now that our kids are older (22 and 19), when we go places, it’s more like traveling with friends than kids. (They might see it differently!) Good times and memories. Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay, I have wanted to do that for a long time. Nancy, not so interested. I liked the line: Grace experienced success. Hannah and I can say we tried. Well put. Your kids are clearly very open minded, and they get it from their parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great “slice of life” post. It says so much about you and your family; what you value, how you interact (not trying to crush your husband’s excitement, for example), the way you are so open to the world. We too have talked about the RV vacation and never done it. Maybe this will inspire a future trip. But no headstand on the paddle board for me!

    Like

Leave a comment